The Lebkuchen tin

Sustainability in progress: Our decorative tins

 

Here at Pfeffer & Frost, we’re very serious about taking responsibility and saving resources. All our print products and packaging are produced as sustainably as possible, which also includes the question: What happens after all the Lebkuchen have been eaten?

We treat our natural resources with the utmost respect, while at the same time building a creative and economically viable company. One way of doing this is to collaborate with local and environmentally conscious partners, wherever possible.

 
 
 
 
notion image
notion image
 
 
 
 

Our Illustrators

We treat our illustrators fairly, which also means that we don’t do design contests. Being Creatives ourselves, we see pitches as both demotivating and a waste of money. We prefer to come together as a team each year, to choose a theme and an illustrator, and then to give them total freedom to create in their own style. In 2021, Maya Stepien has inspired us with her humorous and modern portfolio. Her exclusive design shows her magical vision of a green city.

 

The Theme

Our designs are deliberately timeless without obvious Christmas references, because we want the decorative cardboard tins to be enjoyed all year round: for example to store spices or collect seeds or notes. Of course, you could also put next year’s Christmas cookies in them, or a present for a friend. Anything goes!

 

The Paper

Our tins are made from recycled and FSC certified papers, which save resources and have a beautiful, natural feel.

FYI: The FSC® (Forest Stewardship Council®) seal guarantees paper from sustainable forestry.

 

The Production

Our tins are produced in Saxony, around 3.5 hours from Nuremberg. The medium-sized, family-owned company has been making high quality tins for 25 years, while also upholding stable, fair employment and inclusiveness.

 

The Packaging

We ship our products in unprinted boxes made from recycled cardboard. Different sizes are available depending on the number of tins you order: For 1˗2 tins we use individual boxes, glued together where necessary to save material. Bigger orders from 4 tins are shipped in a large box with inserts to stabilise and protect the products inside. Even our packaging tape is made from recycled paper, not plastic!

 

Re-Use and Recycle

The production of each new tin and box requires valuable resources like cellulose, water and energy. That’s why the most sustainable thing you can do is to re-use them for gifts or packaging.

If you really can’t re-use them, they are of course fully recyclable – simply put tins and packaging materials in the household paper/cardboard recycling

 

Coming soon...

Much of our packaging can already be produced with related CO2 emissions offset. Unfortunately, not all producers are currently able to offer this, but we are persistent in asking questions and offering our support. As you may have seen, we print many of our products with organic, plant-based inks, and we are working on this for our tins as well.

Lebkuchendose

Sustainable in progress: Unsere Lebkuchen Schmuckdose

 

Bei Pfeffer & Frost nehmen wir unsere Verantwortung für eine ressourcenschonende Produktion sehr ernst. Jedes Printprodukt und jede Verpackung versuchen wir so nachhaltig wie möglich zu produzieren, dazu gehört auch der Gedanke: Was passiert, wenn die Lebkuchen aufgegessen sind?

Wir behandeln unsere natürlichen Ressourcen sparsam und mit Respekt und vereinen dies mit der Entwicklung eines wirtschaftlich tragfähigen und kreativen Unternehmens. Hierfür arbeiten wir mit möglichst lokalen und ökologisch fortschrittlichen Partnern zusammen.

 
 
 
 
notion image
notion image
 
 
 
 

IllustratorInnen

Wir bezahlen unsere IllustratorInnen fair. Dazu gehört für uns, dass wir die Illustration nicht ausschreiben. Wir als Kreative empfinden Pitches, sprich, das Testen mehrerer IllustratorInnen, als demotivieren und rausgeworfenes Geld. Stattdessen setzt sich das Team jährlich zusammen, einigt sich auf ein Thema und einen Illustrator und lässt diesem dann seiner Fasson entsprechend freie Hand. 2021 hat uns das humorvolle und moderne Portfolio von Maya Stepien begeistert. Sie hat unseren Vision der Grünen Stadt gezaubert.

 

Motiv

Wir gestalten unsere Dosen bewusst zeitlos schön ohne deutlichen Bezug zu Weihnachten. Wir wünschen uns, dass unsere Papier-Schmuckdose dir das ganze Jahr Freude bereitet: als Gewürzdose, zum Sammeln von Pflanzensamen oder von Notizen. Natürlich kannst Du sie auch als Plätzchendose im Advent oder als Geschenkverpackung für den nächsten Geburtstag weiter verschenken. Ganz wie es dir beliebt.

 

Papier

Für unsere Dosen werden Recycling- und FSC-zertifizierte Papiere verwendet, die Ressourcen schonen und uns durch ihre natürliche Haptik überzeugt haben.

Zur Info: Das FSC®-Siegel (Forest Stewardship Council®) garantiert uns Papier aus einer nachhaltigen Forstwirtschaft.

 

Produktion

Unser Dosenproduzent sitzt im Herzen Sachsens, nur ca. 3,5 Stunden von Nürnberg entfernt. Das mittelständische, familiengeführte Unternehmen steht seit 25 Jahren neben der Qualität ihrer Dosen für stabile, faire Beschäftigungsverhältnisse und Inklusion.

 

Verpackung

Für den Schutz während des Transportes verwenden wir unbedruckte Kartons aus Recyclingpapier. Je nach Anzahl deiner bestellten Dosen haben wir verschiedene Versandkartongrößen. 1-2 Dosen versenden wir in einzelnen bzw. zusammengeklebten Einzelkartons. Das spart Material und Geld. Für größere Bestellungen ab 4 Dosen versenden wir einen großen Karton mit sogenanntem "Gefache". Das schützt die Dosen und anderen Produkte im Karton und gibt ihm Stabilität. Auch unser Versandklebeband ist natürlich aus Recyclingpapier statt Plastik.

 

Re-Use und Recycle

Für die Produktion einer Dose oder eines Versandkartons werden wertvolle Ressourcen wie Zellstoff, Wasser und Energie eingesetzt. Am nachhaltigsten ist es daher wenn du diese Verpackungen weiter verschenkst oder als Versandmaterial wieder verwendest.

Wenn die Verpackungen wirklich nicht mehr zu verwenden sind, kannst Du selbstverständlich alle Bestandteile dem Recyclingkreislauf zuführen. Bitte entsorge Dosen und Versandmaterial einfach im Altpapier.

 

Daran arbeiten wir noch...

Viele unserer Verpackungen können wir bereits CO2-kompensiert produzieren. Leider kann uns das noch nicht jeder Produzent bieten, aber wir geben nicht nach und fragen und helfen jedes Jahr aufs Neue. Vielleicht hast Du auch schon gesehen, dass wir meist mit pflanzlichen Bio-Farben drucken. Auch daran arbeiten wir bei der Dose noch.