Free shipping from 49€ (DE)

Cart

Leerer Teller

Your shopping cart is still completely empty...

LOCAL PRODUCTION

What lasts long stays good - Traditional Elisen Lebkuchen from a family bakery.

For over 110 years, our partner bakery Bock from Nuremberg has been guarding the perfect Lebkuchen recipe - but we were allowed to look into the bakery.

When you taste our Lebkuchen, you immediately understand why the delicious Elisenlebkuchen have been an integral part of Nuremberg's cultural history for almost a millennium: "Lebzelter" and "Lebküchner" are known from the 12th century. [...] Later, a separate guild system developed - the Lebküchner. In Nuremberg, 14 members joined together for the first time in 1643. The history of the wafer gingerbread begins in Nuremberg with the "Elisenlebkuchen", which a factory owner may have named after his daughter Elisabeth. (Wikipedia) The round winter messengers taste wonderfully spicy, juicy and nutty - very basic and those from our family bakery Bock very special!

Baker Bock at work
Freshly glazed Elisenlebkuchen

We have master confectioner Wölfel to thank for the incomparable taste of the Lebkuchen. Through his years of experience, he knows the recipes in his sleep - including those of the secret spice mixture of anise, cardamom, coriander, cloves and, last but not least, ginger, cinnamon and allspice, which distinguishes the individual Lebkuchen of every baker. For the Lebkuchen, our master Wölfel mixes together a whole lot of marzipan, freshly beaten egg whites, lightly toasted ground nuts, the unique spice mixture and a maximum of 10% flour and lets the whole thing knead well. The hearty spicy mixture is rounded off with our regional forest honey from Rügland.

Last but not least, Master Wölfel checks the consistency of the dough with unerring instinct and, if necessary, optimizes it with a little water so that the Lebkuchen is really juicy. Everything is then kneaded well and the finished dough is spread onto wafers. The raw dough pieces are placed on trays, stacked in large rolling trolleys and dried overnight.

When the bakery smells magical the next morning, the Lebkuchen are in the oven and thus on the home stretch. After they have cooled, they are iced, in the classic way with icing or with one of three types of chocolate: milk, dark or white. Under this crunchy sweet protective coating, the Lebkuchen remain as moist for months as they were on the day they were baked.

Whip the egg whites for the Lebkuchen
Roasted hazelnuts for the Lebkuchen
Kneading flour, beaten egg whites, spices and other ingredients for the Lebkuchen
Portioning the Elisen Lebkuchen dough
Shaped Elisen Lebkuchen with wafer on the baking sheet
Baker Bock in the bakery
Elisen Lebkuchen in the oven
Freshly baked Elisen Lebkuchen
Freshly glazed with icing Lebkuchen

Now you might think Lebkuchen is a conventional Christmas cookie, but far from it! Lebkuchen are the absolute superfood among the Christmas cookies: They consist to a large extent of high-quality nuts, which are full of unsaturated fatty acids, which belong to a healthy diet in any case. Just the thing for the winter season!

Freshly baked Lebkuchen, partly glazed with chocolate
Elisen Lebkuchen with chocolate coating

Many thanks to pastry chef Wölfel, it is an honor to be able to look over your shoulder.

Newsletter Icon

More delicious news are waiting for you! Subscribe to our newsletter and get 10 % off your first order.

Sign up for super emails!

Subscribe to receive the latest news, promotions and special offers. You get a 10% discount on your first order on top.

Payment Methods

Shipping with

All prices include VAT and packaging, but exclude shipping costs and any customs duties (for non-EU countries). * Free shipping in Germany from € 75.00 purchase value. Pfeffer & Frost – The online shop for traditional Lebkuchen from Nuremberg in plastic-free packaging.

Lokale Produktion

Was lange währt bleibt gut – Traditionelle Elisen-Lebkuchen aus der Familienbäckerei.

 

Seit über 110 Jahren hütet unsere Partnerbäckerei Bock aus Nürnberg das perfekte Lebkuchenrezept – wir durften in die Backstube schauen.

Wenn man unsere Lebkuchen probiert, versteht man sofort, warum die köstlichen Elisenlebkuchen seit fast einem Jahrtausend nicht mehr aus Nürnbergs Kulturgeschichte wegzudenken sind: „Ab dem 12. Jahrhundert sind „Lebzelter“ und „Lebküchner“ bekannt. […] Später entwickelte sich ein eigenes Zunftwesen – der Lebküchner. In Nürnberg schlossen sich 1643 erstmals 14 Mitglieder zusammen. Die Geschichte des Oblatenlebkuchen beginnt in Nürnberg mit dem „Elisenlebkuchen“, den ein Fabrikant nach seiner Tochter Elisabeth benannt haben dürfte. (Wikipedia) Die runden Winterboten schmecken herrlich würzig, saftig und nussig – ganz grundsätzlich und die von unserer Familienbäckerei Bock ganz besonders!

 
 
 
notion image
notion image
 
 
 

Den unvergleichlichen Geschmack der Lebkuchen haben wir Konditorenmeister Wölfel zu verdanken. Durch seine jahrelange Erfahrung kennt er die Rezepturen im Schlaf – auch die der geheimen Gewürzmischung aus Anis, Kardamon, Koriander, Nelken und nicht zuletzt Ingwer, Zimt und Piment, die die individuellen Lebkuchen eines jeden Bäckers auszeichnet. Unser Meister Wölfel mischt für die Lebkuchen eine ganze Menge Marzipan, frisch aufgeschlagenen Eischnee, leicht angeröstete gemahlene Nüsse, die einzigartige Gewürzmischung und maximal 10% Mehl zusammen und lässt das Ganze gut durchkneten. Die herzhaft pikante Mischung wird mit unserem regionalen Waldhonig aus Rügland abgerundet.

Zu guter Letzt prüft Meister Wölfel die Konsistenz des Teiges mit untrügbarem Fingerspitzengefühl und optimiert je nach Bedarf noch mit etwas Wasser, damit der Lebkuchen so richtig saftig wird. Anschließend wird alles gut geknetet und der fertige Teig auf Oblaten verteilt. Die rohen Teiglinge werden auf Bleche gelegt, in großen Rollwägen gestapelt und über Nacht getrocknet.

Wenn die Backstube dann am nächsten Morgen zauberhaft duftet, sind die Lebkuchen im Ofen und somit auf der Zielgeraden. Nachdem sie ausgekühlt sind werden sie glasiert, ganz klassisch mit Zuckerguss oder mit einer von drei Schokoladensorten: Vollmilch-, Zartbitter- oder weißer Schokolade. Unter diesem knackigen süßen Schutzmantel bleiben die Lebkuchen über Monate so saftig wie am Backtag.

 

Nun könnte man meinen, Lebkuchen wären ein herkömmliches Weihnachtsgebäck, doch weit gefehlt! Lebkuchen sind das absolute Superfood unter den Weihnachtsplätzchen: Sie bestehen zu einem Großteil aus hochwertigen Nüssen, die voller ungesättigter Fettsäuren stecken, die zu einer gesunden Ernährung auf jeden Fall dazu gehören. Genau das Richtige in der Winterzeit!

 
 
 
notion image
notion image
 
 
 

Vielen Dank an Konditormeister Wölfel, es ist uns eine Ehre Dir über die Schulter schauen zu dürfen.